The Free World of Copies

yiwQLmh.png

So we live in a world, where within just a few clicks you can find and obtain a free copy of just about anything. Copies are made of everything that gets put on the internet, from the latest episode of your favourite web series to that photo of your many chins you just sent to your friend. So my question is in a world where there is a free copy of pretty much everything (digital that is), why would you pay for anything?

Well, Kevin Kelly theorizes that it’s actually not the product, whatever that be, that we are paying for. He suggests that if there are copies of everything freely available then what we pay for are things that cannot be copied, and he gives eight examples of what we might actually be paying for, immediacy, personalization, interpretation, authenticity, accessibility, embodiment, patronage, and findability.

I have to say I think he’s right, I know personally about the only thing I pay for anymore is seeing a movie at the cinema, and the reason I do that over just downloading a copy is because of the atmosphere of the cinema, and unfortunately I can’t get a free copy of that.

One thought on “The Free World of Copies

  1. Clancy Carr

    Understandable sentiment; I pay for things that I determine are worth paying for, basically. I don’t think the onus is on the consumer to pay for everything anymore, whether legal or not, I believe that producers should meaningfully argue as to what they’ve made has worth. Thankfully for everything, most things made DO have intrinsic value, so who am I to deny the producer of that. The ‘pay-what-you-want’ model mightn’t make necessarily make sense from a business perspective, but it sure is consumer friendly!

    See: http://www.forbes.com/sites/quora/2015/05/29/you-can-earn-as-much-or-more-from-a-pay-what-you-want-model-as-from-a-fixed-price-model/#27fb56804b67

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

