giphy2

I love the cinema and always have, and as far as I can remember there has never been a time in my life where I haven’t regularly gone to see movies at it. It started with me going to see movies with my dad, or about the age 7 every second week he and I would go and watch a movie on Saturday. It was just the thing that we did; as well as just loving movies, I loved sharing in the experience and then being able to talk about it afterwards.

That’s why I was far from disappointed when I found out my task for this week is going to the cinema, writing about my experience while looking at Hagerstrands constraints.  As he is the one who introduced me to the cinema I thought there was no one better to go with for this task than my dad.

Before I go into the movie experience , let’s look at what Hagerstrands three constraints are-

Capability constraints. These are limits on human movement due to physical or biological factors such as the need to sleep or to eat, access to mobility tools and the availability of temporal and financial resources for conducing activities and making trips (Hagerstrand 1970, cited in Schonfelder & Azhausen 2010, p.38).

Coupling constraints. These are restrictions on the autonomous allocation of time due to the need to coordinate with institutional logistics (schedules or given locations) or interactions with other individuals (appointments or meetings) (Hagerstrand 1970, cited in Schonfelder & Azhausen 2010, p.38).

Authority constraints. These are limits on when activities can or cannot take place, or where they must or must not be located, imposed by external parties. For example, mandatory closing hours is a potential constraint on individual behaviour (Hagerstrand 1970, cited in Schonfelder & Azhausen 2010, p.39).

So, into the night.

We decided to see the third instalment of the new Star trek series, Beyond. We had missed out on seeing at the commercial cinemas due to my lack of free time(coupling constraint), so decided to go to the uni movies, which was a completely new experience for me.

We arrived for the movie pre bought snacks in hand, wanting to avoid taking on the second mortgage it requires(capability constraint) to be able to afford the watered-down soft drink and ever disappointing bucket of popcorn.

Walking into the foyer, I saw the snack bar and ticket lines and relaxed in the familiar setting. It was only when I handed my ticket (which was quite a bit cheaper than my usual fair) to the cinema employee to get it ripped, and they didn’t give it back that I began to realise this might not be the cinema experience I was used to.

nFkO4R4.gif

My fears were confirmed when we walked into the cinema, it was chaos. A fire fight had broken out between two rival gangs wreaking havoc on the back rows, a virgin was being sacrificed to the great old one by a bunch of cultists who were taking up the seats down the front, and the earth had split in two spilling out lava onto the whole left side, and we were expected to find our seats in this. Ok maybe I’m exaggerating but people were talking too loudly in my opinion.

See, like my fellow Communications student Kayla, I like going to the cinema because it’s a space that’s sole purpose is to be a space for you to watch a film, and for me being at the cinema means you abide by the social expectations put on you while you’re there, that have been so deeply entrenched in me.

Thankfully during the actual movie everything was as it was meant to be, people were quite, I saw no illuminating lights of cell phones, and I was able to enjoy the movie in peace.

 

Now you all know I’m a bit of a cinema etiquette nazi, please don’t judge me.

Cheers

Hayden

Leave a Reply

